Kayamkulam Thermal Power Plant

Kayamkulam Thermal Power Plant.JPG

The Rajiv Gandhi Combined Cycle Power Plant (also called as Kayamkulam Thermal Power Plant or NTPC Kayamkulam) is situated at Choolatheruvu in the district of Alappuzha in Kerala, India. The power plant is managed by National Thermal Power Corporation Limited.

Kerala has three thermal power stations - Bhramapuram, Kozhikode and Kayamkulam power stations. Among them Kayamkulam Thermal Power Plant is most prestigious. It was inaugurated by the then prime minister of India, Atal Behari Vajpayee in 17th January 1999. The plant was an initiative of National Thermal Power Corporation of India that had become extremely beneficial and valuable to the power sector in India. The Kayamkulam Combined Cycle Project by NTPC is also valuable to Kerala, since the state which frequently witnesses power shortages. It cost around 1189.94 Crore to set up this thermal power plant.

The power plant is fired by imported and native naphtha. Also the Source of cooling water is Achankovil River. Also there is plan for NTPC to enlarge the power plant by 3 units with volume of 350 Megawatt each. New units will be fired by re-gasified liquefied natural gas (Fuel to be conveyed from liquefied natural gas Terminal at Kochi to Project site of kayamkulam through pipeline (about 100 Kms).

The total approved Capacity of Kayamkulam Thermal Power Plant is 350 Megawatt. Also the net installedpower capacity of the plant is 350 Megawatt, whereas the Gross installed power capacity of the plant is 359.577 Megawatt. The source for the fuel of Thermal Power plant is Imported/Indigenous Naphtha and the source of water is Sweet Water from Achankovil River. The primary fuel utilised for the generation of power is Naphta.

The Kayamkulam Thermal Power Plant is owned by NTPC Limited. The beneficiary states of this project are Kerala and Tamil Nadu (with agreement of Kerala). The approved investment of this power plant is INR 1189.94 Crore. The unit sizes are 2x115 Megawatt + 1x120 Megawatt. There are three units in operation and they are Unit 1, Unit 2 and Unit 3.

The first unit is commissioned in November 1998 with an installed capacity of 115 Megawatt utilising Gas Turbine. The second unit is commissioned in February 1999 with an installed capacity of 115 Megawatt utilising Gas Turbine and the third unit is commissioned in October 1999 with an installed capacity of 120 Megawatt utilising Steam Turbine. World Bank provides international assistance to power generation.

How to Reach: Trivandrum Airport is the nearest Airport, with about 100 kilometer away from Kayamkulam. Kayamkulam Junction railway station is the nearest railway station. Kayamkulam is well linked to other foremost cities of the state via regular buses. The place is also a popular tourist destination for the visitors. Students can pay a visit to this thermal plant to study more about power generation.

  • Project – Rajiv Gandhi Combined Cycle Power Project
  • Commission Date – November 1998
  • Approved Capacity in MW – 350 Megawatt
  • Installed Capacity in MW – 350 Megawatt – Net, (Gross - 359.577 Megawatt)
  • Status - Operational
  • Fuel Source – Imported/Indigenous Naphtha
  • Water Source –Achankovil river Water
  • Primary Fuel –Naphtha
  • Owner – National Thermal Power Corporation Limited
  • Address –P.O. Choolatheruvu-690 506
  • District – Alappuzha
  • State – Kerala
  • Contact Number –0479 2370782
  • Fax -
  • Website – www.ntpc.co.in
  • Beneficiary States - Kerala and Tamil Nadu (with agreement of Kerala)
  • Approved Investment – INR 1189.94 Crore
  • Unit Sizes – 2x115 Megawatt + 1x120 Megawatt
  • Units Operational – 3
  • Unit Commissioned – All the units are commissioned
  • Unit 1 – November 1998 – 115 Megawatt- Gas Turbine
  • Unit 2 – February 1999 – 115 Megawatt- Gas Turbine
  • Unit 3 – October 1999 – 120 Megawatt- Steam Turbine
  • International Support – Time slice loan of World Bank