Unchahar Thermal Power Station

Unchahar Thermal Power Station.JPG

The Plant is situated at Unchahar in the Rae Bareli district of UP. The power plant is coal based and is under the control of National Thermal Power Corporation Limited. It was in the year1992, the State Electricity Board of UP had given the Unchahar Power Station to NTPC due to the payment outstanding and later on NTPC Limited renamed the Power Plant to Feroze Gandhi Unchahar Thermal Power Plant.

Feroze Gandhi Unchahar Thermal Power Plant has apower capacity of 1,500 megawatts, comprehensive of Fourth Stage that got working in April 2017. The First unit of Thermal Power Plant was commissioned in the month of November in 1988. After that second unit was commissioned in March 1989, similarly third unit was commissioned in January 1999, the fourth unit was commissioned in October 1999 and finally the fifth unit was commissioned in September 2006 respectively. The primary fuel used in the Unchahar thermal power plant for the generation of power is coal.The coal for the plant is sourced from the North Karanpura Coal mine. The water source of the thermal power plant is from the Sarda Sahayak Canal.

The Thermal Power Station has the installed capacity of 840 Megawatt for stage 1 & stage 2. For Stage 3, it is 210 Megawatt. The status of this power station is operational. The Feroze Gandhi Unchahar Thermal Power Plant is owned and managed by the National Thermal Power Corporation Limited. The beneficiary states of this thermal power plant are Uttar Pradesh, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Jammu& Kashmir, Punjab, Rajasthan and Uttarakhand. The power plant is also beneficial to Union Territories of India including Chandigarh and Delhi.

The approved Investment for thermal power plant for stage 1 and stage 2 are INR 2400 Crores. For Stage 3, it is INR 940 Crores. The Unit size is 1050 Megawatt for five units. There are 5 units in operation and they are Unit 1 to Unit 5. All the five units of Feroze Gandhi Unchahar Thermal Power Plant are commissioned with an installed capacity of 210 Megawatt in consecutive years.

Project Details

  • Project - Feroze Gandhi Unchahar Thermal Power Plant
  • Commission Date - 1988
  • Approved Capacity in MW–1050 Megawatt
  • Installed Capacity in MW - Stage 1 & 2 : 840 Megawatt, Stage 3 : 210 Megawatt
  • Status - Operational
  • Coal Source - North Karanpura
  • Water Source – Sarda Sahayak Canal
  • Primary Fuel - Coal
  • Owner - NTPC
  • Address - P.O. Unchahar
  • District - Rae Bareli
  • State–Uttar Pradesh
  • Contact Number - 05311 - 211-2620
  • Fax - 221065
  • Website - www.ntpc.co.in
  • Beneficiary States–UP, Haryana, HP, J & K, Punjab, Rajasthan and Uttarakhand. Also beneficial to Union Territories including Chandigarh and Delhi.
  • Approved Investment–Stage 1 and 2: INR 2400 crores, Stage 3 : INR 940 crores
  • Unit Sizes – 5 x 210 Megawatt
  • Units Operational - 5
  • Unit Commissioned – All Units are Commissioned
  • International Support–Asian Development Bank, ADB