Amazing Facts about Indian Parliament

indian parliament.JPG

First Union Cabinet of India

Amazing Facts about Indian Prime Ministers

Period of Prime Ministers

President of India

President is considered as the first citizen of Nation. One has to complete his 35 years of age for becoming President. Five years is the period of President. President is considered as the national leader for all defense army including militant, navel and air force. Indian President is elected by the members of legislative assemblies of each state.

In case, a president lost his power, the next president should be elected within 6 months after losing Ex-president’s power. President should submit his resignation letter to vice president. Newly elected president should take his pledge (affidavit) in front of chief justice of Supreme Court. Rashtrapati Bhavan (President House) is the official residence of an Indian President. Mughal Garden is located inside the compound of Rashtrapati Bhavan. Edwin Lutyens is the chief architect of Rashtrapati Bhavan. There are 340 rooms inside Rashtrapati Bhavan. Impeachment is the act involved for dismissing the power of President.

Presidents and their Importance

Dr.S. Radhakrishnan is the only president who is considered as Philosopher. Dr Rajendra Prasad is the only president who became president consecutively for two times. Dr. Zakir Hussain is the first Muslim president of India. He is also the first president, who passed away while serving as President. Neelam Sanjeeva Reddy is the least aged president of India and he is also the only president who became Lok Sabha Speaker. Neelam Sanjeeva Reddy is the first president who won the election without any opposition.

R. Venkat Raman is the most aged President till now. VV.Giri is the president who won the election for least difference of votes from runner up. He is also the first acting president of India. Pratibha Patil is the first women president of India.

Presidents and their periods:

Vice President

The minimum age required for becoming Indian vice president is 35 years. The ruling period of vice president is 5 years. Vice president serves the duties of president on his absence. Vice president is elected by all the members of both Rajya Sabha and Lok Sabha. President is the chair person of Rajya Sabha. Newly elected vice president would take his pledge in front of president. There is no special act mentioned in Indian constitution for dismissing vice president.

Vice Presidents and their Periods

Acting Presidents:

Women in Lok Sabha

Lok Sabha Speaker: