Facts about Road Transport in Kerala

New name of National Highway in Kerala

Kerala State Road Transport Corporation (KSRTC)

Facts about Railway Transport in Kerala

Ernakulam-Kollam MEMU

Kochi Metro

Facts about Water Transport in Kerala

Facts about Air Transport in Kerala

The Headquarters of Southern Air force Command is at Thiruvananthapuram.

Four Airports in Kerala are Cochin International Airport (Nedumbasseri), Calicut International Airport (Karippur), Kannur International Airport and Trivandrum International Airport.

Trivandrum International Airport

First airport in Kerala was established in 1932 as part of the Royal Flying Club under the initiative of Colonel Goda Varma Raja. On 1 January 1991, Airport was upgraded to an international airport. It was operated by Airports Authority of India. It is the eighth busiest airport in the country in international passenger traffic and 12th busiest in overall passenger traffic. The first flight took off from Trivandrum Airport on 1 November 1935. It is also the first international airport in a non-metro city in India. First Air traffic is Air Mail service of Tata Sons and Company from Mumbai to Trivandrum on Oct. 1935. Bombay-Trivandrum Service started in 1935.

Cochin International Airport

It is located at Nedumbassery. It is the busiest and largest airport in Kerala opened on 10 June 1999. Its owner is Cochin International Airport Ltd. Cochin International Airport is the first ever airport in the country which was developed under a public-private partnership (PPP) model.

Calicut International Airport

It is known as Karipur Airport and is located in Karipur (Malappuram District). The airport was given international airport status on 2 February 2006. The operator is Airports Authority of India.

Kannur International Airport

Kannur International Airport is the most recently opened airport in Kerala. It is located at Mattanur in Kannur District. The first flight from airport was launched in 9th December 2018, which is an Air India Express flight took off to Abu Dhabi.