Sharavathi Hydro Power Plant in Karnataka

Sharavathi Hydro Power Plant in Karnataka.jpg

Sharavathi Hydro Power Plant in Karnataka is commissioned in 1964. It has an approved and installed capacity of 1035 Megawatt. The type of project is Major and are having a capacity greater than 25 MW. The current status of the power plant is Operational. The source of water for the generation of power is Sharavathi River. The basin is west flowing rivers. The power station is located in the Southern Hydroelectric Region. The power plant is owned by Karnataka Government and the operating company is Karnataka Power Corporation Limited.

The Beneficiary States of the power plant are Karnataka and other south Indian states. The power project was completed in 1977. The total number of turbines used in the power station is 10 and capacity per Turbine is 103.5 MW. The type of turbine used in the power plant is Pelton. The turbine manufacturer of the first to eighth units is Neyrpic France and Unit 9 and Unit 10 are manufactured by Bharat Heavy Electricals Limited of India. Also the Generator manufacturer of both first and second unit is Hitachi Japan. The generator manufacturer from third to eight units is by the GE Canada and lastly the generators of ninth and tenth units are manufactured by BHEL India.

How to Reach: Sharavathi Hydro Power Plant is located in the Kargal town of Sagara subdivision of Shimoga District in the state of Karnataka. You can reach this power station via Road, Rail or Air. Sagara Jambagaru is the nearest Railway Station and Mangalore Airport, which is roughly 195 Kms from Shimoga city is the nearest International Airport. Frequent busses, taxi services are accessible from the nearest city/towns to the power station.

Project Details:

• Hydroelectric Project Name – Sharavathi Hydro Power Plant

• Commission Date – 1964

• Approved Capacity in MW – 1,035 MW

• Installed Capacity in MW – 1,035 MW

• Type of Project – Major (>25 MW)

• Status – Operational

• Water Source – Sharavathi

• Basin – West flowing rivers from Tadri to Kanyakumari

• Hydroelectric Basin – West flowing rivers

• Hydroelectric Region – Southern Hydroelectric Region

• Owner – Karnataka Government

• Operating Company – KPCL (Karnataka Power Corporation Limited)

• Address – Kargal, Sagara District, Karnataka

• District – Sagara

• State – Karnataka

• Contact Number –080-22256568,22269930-37

• Email –

• Website –

• Beneficiary States/ Union Territories – Karnataka and other South Indian States

• Completion of Power Project– 1977

• Number of Turbines – 10

• Capacity per Turbine – 103.5 MW

• Type of Turbine – Pelton

• Turbine Manufacturer – Unit 1 to Unit 8 – Neyrpic France and Unit 9 to Unit 10 – BHEL India

• Generator Manufacturer - Unit 1 to Unit 2: Hitachi Japan, Unit 3 to Unit 8 : GE Canada, Unit 9 to Unit 10 : BHEL India

• Unit Sizes – 1,035 MW (10 units x 103.5 MW)

• Total Units – 10

• Units Commissioned – All the ten units are commissioned